A Course I Hope to Teach, Pt. 14

Would You Be a Rock Star?

Reviewing David Hepworth’s Uncommon People

Terry Barr
5 min readFeb 23, 2022

--

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

I know. Many of us would scream,

YESSSSSSSSSSSS.

Until I was fifty, I harbored hopes that one day someone would want me to front a band because I have a decent singing voice, though it’s fairly low-pitched. I had the hair, the attitude, and I figured I knew what a hit song sounded like.

Then I saw that bald patch.

Life sometimes spares us from the more destructive things we could have ventured into. For a few minutes back in my 20’s, I thought cocaine might be the drug for me. I got convinced it wasn’t on the day after I snorted at regular intervals of twenty minutes over an afternoon and evening and knew it wouldn’t be enough.

And so when I read the accounts of Rock Star/Celebs whose roadies bring out golden trays of coke between numbers on stage and even during numbers when a singer waits patiently or not for a guitar solo to end, I think that even had I the pipes and the chops, could that rock life in any form equal the one I have? Or have lasted as long?

So thanks, David Hepworth, for not killing a dream as much as helping me, for the 500,000th time, understand that fame is fleeting, is

--

--

Terry Barr

I write about music, culture, equality, and my Alabama past in The Riff, The Memoirist, Prism and Pen, Counter Arts, and am an editor for Plethora of Pop.