Thoughts About Club Q

The bar, not the lunatic fringe group

Terry Barr
6 min readNov 22, 2022

--

Photo by BETZY AROSEMENA on Unsplash

Last night as I was still processing yet another mass shooting at a public venue, my wife and I spoke about fear.

“It’s all this fear of things we don’t understand,” she said.

And while I agreed with her essentially, I nevertheless wondered why it’s so fucking complicated to understand that our country was founded on the notion that people want certain freedoms, the autonomy to do what they want with their own bodies, their own lives, as long as they aren’t doing physical or psychological harm to anyone else.

Now, I know the word “harm” can be subjective. I may have harmed a few ears and minds and eyes by using the word “fucking” a few lines ago. Perhaps I should be above such words and perhaps I should observe the sense of decorum implanted in me at birth. But if you feel harmed right now, you have the choice of reading on or not, disliking my words, me, or not. Surely, though, you don’t want to erase me.

Isn’t it a privilege to be writing and reading these notes from a troubled son?

Anyway, back to Club Q.

Last night as I watched The Chris Hayes Show on MSNBC, he spoke of how violence against the LGBTQ+community, and especially against Trans people, is on the rise, stoked by right-wing…

--

--

Terry Barr

I write about music, culture, equality, and my Alabama past in The Riff, The Memoirist, Prism and Pen, Counter Arts, and am an editor for Plethora of Pop.